You’d expect more respect: Darcey Bussell at the Olympics

My brother Quincy posted this article up on his FB timeline and I decided to share it, too. Apparently, American TV felt it wasn’t cool to air the Christopher Wheeldon ballet starring Darcey Bussell that not just closed the Olympics last Sunday, but extinguished the Olympic flame. This article explains why, in a very simple, compelling way. I love that my dance friends responded to this post, commenting on it and sharing it as well. More people who don’t agree that ballet is not cool, yay.

I also read an article recently about Darcey Bussell’s life after retirement, and discovered that she retired at the age of 38 – the age I am now. I read that she felt kind of lost without dancing, and was really looking forward to performing at the Olympics. She is currently 43.

I tend to sleep longer after several hours of class and rehearsals, and I believe I need to build up my stamina again, but I think my technique is coming back with my daily stretching routine (well, it TRIES to be daily hahaha). The other week, I was watching Sylvie Guillem on YouTube, and  remembered a Twitter conversation I had a couple months ago with Tiffany and Erica, about Sylvie Guillem retiring from full-length ballets at her current age of 47, but only full-length ballets, as she is still dancing contemporary works. I am reminded of this again now, reading about Darcey Bussell coming out of retirement to dance (and not be broadcasted in America) at the Olympics.

Even after the Olympics, I hope Darcey Bussell keeps dancing. I do know what it feels to be lost without dancing, and I know I will dance as long as I live. Or at least, I’m going to try.

To appreciate why I ado much about Darcey Bussell, please check her out in Balanchine’s Tchaikovsky Pas de Deux.

Leave a Reply

