This year I was able to

1. organize a mini-conference on contemporary dance

2. write some of my best work, both on Runthru and in academic papers that have yet to see the light of day

3. gain perspective on what I really want to do with my life and how to achieve it

(For this, thank you, Miguel+. I will make my dreams come true, too.)

4. empower my team to be the best team ever, yet realize that we still have a long way to go

5. quiet the angry monster who lives under my skin

6. find inspiration in the least expected places

7. meet and keep the best friends anyone could want or need

8. mount a most awesome Cinderella

9. regain my faith in true and unconditional love/fall in love again

10. find that work-life harmony (though holy cow, that was difficult!!!)

11. keep dancing the way I want to still be dancing

12. cut myself some slack

2012 was a really good year. The most important thing I learned – from 2010 to 2012 – is whether a year will be good or not is not something you leave up to the universe. You make that year good or bad. Or awesome.

I will make 2013 awesome. Hope you will, too. Again, happy happy new year.

I have appropriated this from “This week I was able to…” – an exercise started by my former boss, Pao Pena, in my first year in Digital Marketing. He would call for a meeting every late Friday afternoon, where each of us would recount our achievement for that week, ending our stressful week on a high note. Sometimes, even after he had left, I would still tell him what “This week I was able to” do, especially if it was something he had hoped I would improve on in my work, or that my team had accomplished. It’s a great way to end the year with too, definitely.

Leave a Reply

