39

I am 39 years old today. To be honest, 39 is not as cool sounding as 38. 38 had that recklessness about it, when you’re at an age where you’re accomplishing your life’s goals, but still young enough to be wild and carefree. 39 sounds like you’re gonna be middle-aged soon. 39 is a year before you turn 40. 

I’m grateful that I still look younger than I am. It’s been a while since anyone said I look like a teenager and thank God because I looked like an idiot when I was a teenager. I still want people to know my real age, so they know that I’m not this wide-eyed ingenue who needs to learn a thing or two, that I’m only drawn that way. I used to want to look older, but I’m definitely glad now that I don’t look 39. 

I’ve been thinking about my age the last few months, and I was thinking, heck, where did those 39 years go? What have I been doing that I’m suddenly this old? I know, of course, what I’ve been up to these last 39 years. But the thought of all that time going by just blows the mind. 

I read on Twitter a quote from one of my favorite actors: 

“Your life is precious. You’ve only got one. Don’t waste it on bad relationships, on bad marriages, on bad jobs, on bad people.” -Eric Idle

This is how I plan to spend the next 40 or 50 years. While looking around 39. Meanwhile, today, let’s have a happy birthday. I have cupcakes. 

Leave a Reply

