Buy Books This Weekend!

Tahanan Books

The Tahanan Books booth πŸ™‚

Managed to squeeze in a trip to the Manila International Book Fair last Wednesday. Was there primarily to support my friend, Fran, editor at Tahanan Books, who are launching 4 new books tomorrow, so go and check them out. The Alpabetong Filipino I actually already bought as a gift to my godchild, Diego. I also bought Yvette Tan’s new book, Kaba. I think she and illustrator Nelz Yumul are signing books tomorrow, yay, more reason to go.

Across the Tahanan booth was the Ateneo Press booth and beside them was the UP Press booth. The UST press booth was in the next aisle. I kinda wanted to buy so many nerdy academic books, it was so not funny. National Bookstore and Fully Booked both had ginormous booths (National actually looked like the ACTUAL NATIONAL BOOKSTORE, complete with shelves and carpet, o diba), but I skipped those and went straight to the Press booths instead.

Anvil’s space was ginormous as well and most of the books were 50% off. Seriously. If not 50% off, they would be 20% or 80% off.

This is my second book fair in my entire life, so I was quite stunned with what I encountered. But quite worth the visit, if you ask me. It was quite nuts last Wednesday (people-wise), and will probably be even more nuts tomorrow, but hey, they’re books. On a discount. Go get them.

Walking Through Philippine Theater by Basilio Esteban Villaruz

The books at the UST booth. Steve Villaruz’s Walking Through Philippine Theater trilogy is on display whee.

Rene Azurin's Power and Virtue

Rene Azurin’s Power and Virtue is on a 50% discount, everybody. At the Anvil area (to your right when you enter the hall).

Tahanan books

My loot from Tahanan Books.

Leave a Reply

