Unplugging trend early adopter

I got this article from the Greatist newsletter today, about how people are so addicted to the internet and how successful people have started to unplug themselves from the internet and social media, and why. Go read it, if you want to know more.  If unplugging is going to be a trend soon, may I proclaim myself the early adopter as I was constantly unplugged last week (yeah, while I was also hyper acidic).

My postpaid line got cut two Fridays ago because of my outstanding balance, leftover from this data roaming fiasco while in Malaysia last April. I paid part of my bill – just the overdue and not the current bill, and requested for reconnection. I got a text that said “We’re processing your request, this is your ref number blah blah blah,” and later another one that said, “We have successfully processed your request.” But I still wasn’t reconnected; turns out my bill was higher than I thought it was – ever since Globe’s problems with their modernization program delayed the processing of the bills, I have been unable to understand my bill, what I’ve paid for, what I still owe. Anyway, long story short, I finally got reconnected almost a week later when I went to a Globe store to complain about my reconnection and why are you sending me texts that you processed my request successfully if you haven’t yet?

(Still not compelled to switch. I love Globe.)

Back to the point. So anyway, I was without a postpaid line for a week. It’s okay when I’m at home and all my gadgets are feeding on our wifi. But once I left the house, it was too strange that I had no digital contact to the outside world – yes, while in the outside world. I swear, I didn’t even get to use even an eighth of the battery. How was I able to do this from childhood to college? It blows the mind, this internet dependence. I agree, it’s the drug of the new age.

Some things of note:

1. There are no games on my iPhone. I realized this when I was unable to go on my social networking sites, what else to do with the phone if I’m not on the internet? This made me download Pocket Planes onto the phone, but I don’t know yet if that was a good idea.

2. Reading on the iPhone is not interrupted by notifications, so yay.

3. I thought, okay I don’t need to text anybody anyway, nobody texts me anymore, they can always contact me via Facebook chat and email. Then, I receive several texts from people and my inability to text them back is a hefty source of stress. Then, after some time, I learned to let go of the anxiety of needing to reply to them right away. I like this, and will probably keep doing this even now that I’m reconnected and back online.

4. It’s comforting that mobile phone-free people are still capable of making it a point to be at the agreed specific place at the agreed specific time when meeting up.

That said, I’ve actually already been “unplugging” anyway: I put my phone in the bag and manage to ignore it – and actually forget about it – while I’m dancing. So that makes me an even earlier adopter, doesn’t it? I’m so happening.

Leave a Reply

