Rosas ng Maynila: Joining a 30 Year Celebration

Still from the video on the Rosas website

Still from the video on the Rosas website

Contemporary choreographer Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker’s dance company Rosas, and the pioneer work she created for the company, Rosas danst Rosas, turns 30 this year, and they brought the party worldwide, allowing dancers all over the world to upload their own video of the dance. Which is what the Contemporary Dance Network Manila did, and they called it Rosas ng Maynila.

I was supposed to join the project, and even learned the dance online, but I couldn’t make it to the scheduled shoot. This obviously kills me, haha. Elena Laniog, who is in the video: 3rd girl from the left, tried to make me feel better by telling me I was bagay to the dance (I know right… hahaha). The resulting film was awesome, and it still gives me the happy goosebumps. I featured it in Runthru here.

Leave a Reply

