Anger Management

I have been rehearsing with Ing Fung once a week the last few weeks. It’s a different process, I keep urging her to give me movement, she keeps wanting to talk the movement out of my body. The very first meeting, she said, “What do you do when you’re angry?” So the idea was she was to watch me act out this anger, or rather, revisit this anger as she wanted it to be very “organic,” and then get movement from there. She still dictates, but it’s based on my body, on my anger. Opportunely, something happened to me recently that made me VERY angry, and, well, let’s say Ing Fung got A LOT of movement.

Late last week, I decided I didn’t want to be angry any more, I didn’t want to be constantly upset, or in fear of being hurt. So I did something about it and was very zen ever since. So liberated. I was happy. Nothing pissed me off. I noticed everything around me that I had to be grateful for and I was very grateful.

Then, I went into rehearsal a couple days later and Ing Fung said, “What happened to all your anger? You need to go and get it back.” Hahaha.

Ah, dance. What a difficult art you are.

Photo by Hii Ing Fung, for her upcoming work to be premiered in November 2014

Photo by Hii Ing Fung, for her upcoming work to be premiered in November 2014

Leave a Reply

